Blue-Orange Colour Run

Thought I’d post the latest colour run that I did for a swap in my fabric dyeing forum group. The swap was a blue-orange colour run and the colours I choose were ProChem’s Intense Blue and Burnt Orange.

Intense blue and burnt orange Prochem
ProChem’s Intense Blue and Burnt Orange.

The idea of this swap was to create browns but as you can see I really only got one brown right next to the burnt orange primary. I’m thinking that the burnt orange is closer to a golden yellow than a strong orange. I really like the blue-green colour that’s next to the intense blue primary.

Here is a picture of the run with the fat eighth parfait I did with the leftover dyes.

intense blue and burnt orange with parfait
Colour run with parfait.

I just mixed up some dried fruit and cherries with brandy to sit over-night. I’ll be making some fruitcakes tomorrow so we’ll see how this turns out. This is one bowl of fruit and I have another bowl that is similar but without the nuts for a different recipe that a friend gave me. I’m hoping these cakes work out as I spent a lot of money buying the ingredients. As is always the case it would have been cheaper to buy the fruitcake but I like my fruitcake without citrus peel so thought I’d give it a try cooking my own.

fruit cake mix
Mix for fruitcake.

I finally finished the little sweater I was working on for baby Chase but I forgot my camera at home and the pictures I took are on my daughter’s camera. I’ll post a couple of pictures when she sends them to me. The sweater just fit, he’s growing so quickly.

Karen

12 responses to “Blue-Orange Colour Run

  1. I agree the blue next to the primary is a lovely color. that is the one thing about dyeing fabric sometimes you get the unexpected but it can be nice. I like yours better then mine. When I went to a list of files on my computer I see that I had done teal blue and strong orange earlier this year. It is lost in the storage unit, tho.

    I buy fruitcake from a company just south of Dallas. their fruitcake is divine.

    my mother always made plum pudding, dark fruitcake and a light pound cake fruitcake recipe. I like the light poundcake one the best as the flavors were a bit milder.

    Anyway, I first learned of the fruitcakes when we were first married as the band sold them to make money and we were friends with the band director.

    now we drive the the town on our way to and from the Houston Quilt show and the fruitcakes are just as divine, but if you go into the store everything else is divine so you spend more money. ann

    • Hopefully these two recipes turn out. They are for the dark fruitcake with raisens, dates, candied cherries and currants. It has some brandy on it and I’ll be putting in some molasses as well so it’s probably stronger than you like. I paid around $60 for the ingredients so a hefty pricetag. I’m not sure how many cakes I’ll get out of that. I guess it depends on how big the pans are that I’ll use. I have the mini-loaf pans, I don’t know if I use them if it will make the cakes to dry.

      Karen

  2. Karen I love your color run. I think you have 2 browns. The rusty brown isn’t the color you’d use for a tree stem. The color next to the rusty one looks perfect for a tree as far as I can tell from my screen. It may not be what you call a proper brown, but it is a good natural color. One I find very useful for my appliqué work.
    $ 60 sounds like an awful lot of money for cakes to me. I don’t like the cherries you’re using, but just love the lemon peel (or orange peel). Just this week I made stewed pears with lemon peel and lots of brown sugar, yum.

    • I’d wondered about whether or not the greeny-brown would be considered a brown. I know that ProChem has a few dyes that are like that, Havanna brown comes to mind.

      Funny how we are all different when it comes to fruitcake. I think the norm is for fruitcake to have the citrus peel because I know it’s very hard for me to find a fruitcake without the peel in it. I have to admit that I’m not very fond of marmalade either.

  3. I think all of the colors are beautiful!

  4. OOH I love these fabrics. That intense blue is one of my favorite colors too

  5. Beautiful color run!

  6. I am new to dyeing and do not understand how to do color runs or even how you mix the colors in the first place.

    • Hi truffles,

      A colour run consists of two main dye colours, for example say blue and yellow. You can make a colour run any way you want want but you have to be consistent.

      For example say I want to use 60 ml as my standard. To do a run I could start off with one bowl having 60 ml of blue dye. The next bowl could be 50ml blue + 10 ml of yellow. The bowl after that would be 40 ml blue + 20 ml yellow. The next bowl would be 30ml blue + 30 ml yellow, the next 20 ml blue + 40 ml yellow, the next bowl 10 ml blue + 50 ml yellow and the last bowl would be 60 ml yellow.

      This way you would get a graduated run of blue to yellow and the various shades of green in between. It doesn’t have to be these measurements. You could make it so you have less gradations (shows a bigger change in shades) or you could increase the number of gradations (less difference in colours)

      For example say you wanted fewer gradations then your measurements could be:

      60 ml (blue)
      45 ml + 15 ml
      30 ml + 30 ml
      15ml + 45 ml
      60 ml (yellow)

      As for mixing the colours, do you mean making up the dye? There are instructions on the websites of the companies that sell dye. My favourite companies are ProChemical and Dharma. They give guidelines on how to mix the dyes and how much dye you need for the amount of material you use.

      If you would like to learn how to dye your own fabric then an excellent book to buy is “Dyeing to Quilt” by Joyce Mori.

      Dyeing to Quilt

      The book is out of print but the above link in Amazon.com will give you several used book dealers that carry the book. In it she talks all about mixing your dyes and creating colour wheels, runs etc.

      Karen

Leave a Reply

