Moda Scrap Bags…Part 1.

I have to apologize for not keeping up with the blog lately. Aside from being very busy over the holidays the case of tinnitus I developed in August (antibiotics) has still been bothering me and I find that it gets worse on the computer so I’ve cut back the computer time compared to what I used to spend on it.

Anyhow thought I would share some goodies I ordered in the mail a couple of weeks ago. I cruise the fabric sites frequently, place my orders and then cancel them out as I realise I have way to much fabric and not enough time to use it all up but I have to admit that I’ve taken a fancy to the Moda pre-cuts because there is something about their line of fabrics that really appeals to me.

Long story short, I’m too cheap to buy the jelly rolls but I discovered a site Fabric Depot that gives a good discount on all of their fabric and pre-cuts and in the jelly roll section they have Moda Scrap Bags. These bags contain the waste ends of the bolts of fabric they use to make up their jelly rolls. There is a description of these bags on the sites that sell them so I won’t go into any detail but thought I’d post a few pictures.


Oooh, what goodies can be in here?


Love it when a retail site makes an effort to be efficient in packing items that will cost the customer less in shipping fees.


Moda scrap bag jelly rolls.


From the Spring Fever line by My Sister and Me for Moda. Not all of the fabric line colours are included in these end pieces. There are pinks, purples and turquoises as well. I didn’t bother to lay out all the strips, about 33 or just over 1/2 pound of fabric.


This scrap bag contained creams and beiges from three different lines maybe four, anyhow they all co-ordinated. Aster Manor, Parlour, Ferny and another.


This bag contained the same fabric lines as the creams above but had pinks, chocolate browns and reds. Also every strip was a different fabric just like a real jelly roll whereas the others had repeat fabrics. I can combine the two bags I think and get maybe a double-size quilt out of these two. I just need to figure out what my co-ordinating fabrics will be to make my blocks.

All in all I was very pleased with my three bags and will probably order another three. I’m working on a quilt using the Spring Fever bag and just have to finish putting it together and then binding it. Hopefully in a couple of days it will be done and I’ll post the finished quilt.

Karen

Leave a Reply

