Winter Quilt Finished

Last week I finally finished the Winter quilt I’d been working on so I decided to post a picture of it and the quilting I did on it.


Pinwheel quilt using fabric from Moda by designer Kansas Troubles – Kansas Winter line. I’ve always had a hard time trying to get a good photograph of large quilts, bit of dappled sunshine going on in there.

I got the idea for this quilt from a tutorial put out by the Missouri Star Quilt Company. The tutorial is called “Stack and Whack” and the blocks are made using pre-cut triangles.
They have quite a selection of videos and I have plans to do several more projects using the ideas I’ve gotten from the tutorials.


Machine quilting, meandering done in black areas and hand-guided hearts in the pinwheels. The hearts got better as I progressed but nothing like the perfect ones you get using a long-arm and a pantograph. I prefer to think of my quilting as folk-art, lol.

“Folk art encompasses art produced from an indigenous culture or by peasants or other laboring tradespeople. In contrast to fine art, folk art is primarily utilitarian and decorative rather than purely aesthetic.” -taken from Wikipedia.

Karen

2 responses to “Winter Quilt Finished

  1. Absolutely stunning Karen. Love the colours. Just the right amount of zing to make the quilt amazing.

Leave a Reply

