Nuthatch Hat

I hope everyone had a great Christmas, we did and celebrated with the family and grandkids. Dinner went well with turkey and fixin’s so all were well fed and then the grandkids opened their gifts.

I finally finished up a Fair Isle hat today and have a couple of pictures of Dan and I wearing it. It’s actually Dan’s hat but we all had a go trying it on.


Dan wearing Nuthatch ski hat from the book ‘Colorwork Creations’ by Susan Anderson-Freed.


Yarn from KnitPicks – Palette in the colours: Marine Heather, Black, Natural (Bare), Mist, Asphalt Heather, and Pimento.

I didn’t block the hat before taking the pictures and although you’re supposed to I’m not inclined to bother since the hat looks okay on anyway. It’s possible blocking it would hide a bit of the red under the grey but I’m not sure it’s worth the effort.

I have a couple other hats to make from this book so I’m hoping my technique will improve as I go on. I’ve knit Fair Isle yoked sweaters before but this was different for me because the yarn was so fine. I really liked working with it because it made the details in the colorwork more crisp and defined.

Karen

One response to “Nuthatch Hat

  1. Ohh love the hat – on both of you…lol. I don’t think I would have blocked it either – it looks fine as it is. Good to hear you all had a fabulous Christmas. Will catch up with you soon – promise.

Leave a Reply

