Spinning Fun.

Well I finished spinning up the last of the Shetland fleece I got from Jamieson & Smith. I had Jonathan take a picture of me wearing it just for some fun. I have no clue what to make with it. I thought it was a lot of yarn but at 767 yards it’s not enough for a large sweater so it might get turned into a toddler sweater but I’m not sure. I’m not sure I want to waste it on a small person who may or may not wear it.
IMG_4086
Myself wearing my Shetland homespun yarn, around 767 yards of it at 354 grams, it was warm.

I have also been working on my Hillswick Lumber. This is a wonderful cardigan by Ann Feitelson from her book The Art of Fair Isle Knitting. Progress is slow at one row every 20-25 minutes so it’s going to take a few months to finish. The progress so far:
Hillswick lumber section 1
Hillswick Lumber, body section.

Aside from the spinning and knitting I haven’t really gotten anything else done around here. Spring is coming though so once it gets a bit warmer I can envision doing some spring cleaning. I have a couple of wool fleeces reserved so hope to place the order this weekend for them. Once they arrive I’ll be washing them up; apparently raw fleece attracts moths more readily so I’m paranoid about that so you might see some more fleece cleaning photos in the near future.

Karen

6 responses to “Spinning Fun.

  1. Wow, that sure is a lot of yarn! It’s so nice to be able to put a face to who I’ve been talking to online so nice photo :D I love your fairisle cardigan, it does look like it will take a long while. The ribbing at the bottom looks very interesting. I can’t wait to see it when it’s finished :D

  2. Thank you :)
    The ribbing is pretty and the button band will look similar when it’s all done but shorter of course. I’ve been trying to be good about keeping up with it but we’ll see how it goes.

  3. Well done on the spinning. Mix it with some other wool and get an adult jumper out of it. Love the fair isle but I’ll leave it to you to wow us with your work. To much fiddling for me.

  4. Good idea, thanks Catherine :)

  5. Well done on spinning that yarn! I was tempted to buy some J&S fibre when I was in Shetland, but didn’t have room in my bag. You have enough to do a short sleeve sweater like Paper Dolls, or a vest. Your cardigan is looking very pretty!

Leave a Reply

