“The Path To Hell Is Paved With Good Intentions”

“The path to hell is paved with good intentions” What has that to do with today’s blog? Simple it’s the name I’ve decided to give the quilt I was working on for the bingo prize in our swap group. You note I said, “was” in the previous tense.

 Yes this little gem was a test in patience from its wonderful itsy-bitsy, teeny-weeny pieces, bias-cut edges and the lovely meandering colour scheme. The colour scheme being complicated by the fact that I choose the alternate color-way displayed – you know what I’m talking about. The wonderful alternate colour scheme quilts they display in a book but provide no instructions for from the original blah version.  

I finally finished this top today, all 20 x 20 glorious inches of it after four days of intense labour. Sounds like a lot of time spent on such a small quilt but the thing was so dang finicky.  Truth be told I’d already sort of settled on this name for it but the final kicker came when I put it on my cutting table for one final look and to admire the wonderful border I’d put in with some really neatly done mitred edges.

That of course was when I’d noticed that some of the blocks were being a little rotationally challenged. Not only did I screw up but I did so badly. Out of a possible eight blocks that I managed to misalign by 180 degrees I misplaced six of them! What to do, what to do? If I were a poet I’d add the phrase “Sit and stew” or maybe some other choice word that rhymes with “do and stew”.

Well it doesn’t work to give away flawed work, as the participant would probably wonder “What, I’m not good enough to get something better than this?” And I haven’t got the gumption to pick the whole thing apart…well maybe in a few months (or years…) so I guess it’s back to the drawing board of creativity.

Which brings me back to the phrase “What to do, what to do?”

Karen

the-path-to-hell-is-paved-with-good-intentions.jpg
“The Path To Hell Is Paved With Good Intensions”

Leave a Reply

