Little Things

It’s another lovely day here in Southern Ontario, cold but sunny, which is very nice. The leaves have been falling off the trees with a vengence and along with the frost there has been a sprinkling of snow on the ground in the morning. It’s only a matter of time before we see our first real snowfall. Christmas is just around the corner and I am NOT prepared. I’ve been reading lots of books (mostly Terry Pratchett) and haven’t gotten much done but I guess that’s normal for me. I need to crank it up a notch. Why is it every year there just doesn’t seem enough time in December?

I just wanted to post a few small things that I’ve done over the past couple of weeks. I did up another tank top the other day and decided to tone it down (at least for me) so I did the tank in a LWI (low-water immmersion) using Indigo procion mx dye from ProChem; it turned out nicely mottled and goes well with my jeans. I wore it to church today paired along with a cerelean blue tee I had kicking around.
indigo-tank.jpg
Indigo blue tank

Yesterday saw the finishing of a necklace, braclet, earring combo that I had made for one of the girls in my fabric dyeing forum.  We normally include a little gift for the hostess of each swap we participate in. I am currently involved in a colour study, which includes six swaps all being looked after by the same hostess so I decided to make up the necklace set and send it on.
hostess-gift.jpg
Hostess gift for colour study

While looking for the indigo dye for the tank top I realised that I hadn’t done a gradation on a discontinued ProChem dye called Pinecone so here it is. Unfortunately they no longer carry the dye as they’ve sold out but I thought I would post a picture anyway so people could see what it looks like.
pinecone-gradation-prochem.jpg
Pinecone gradation

It’s not a bad colour of brown and I’ll have to get around to using it in a quilt some day.

 Karen

3 responses to “Little Things

  1. You did a great job on the necklace set and I just love the pinecone gradation you did.

  2. ohhhhh yummy tank top and that necklace and earrings are to die for. Simply scrummy. You are so talented. Well done.

  3. Love the indigo tank Karen,,,and the necklace for Kelly,,wow!!! She will love them! Love the pinecone gradation too. I finally have gotten some time to really look in your blog,,,your very talented.

Leave a Reply

