Shiva paintstiks and Ted E. Bear

Damp miserable rainy day today but I don’t care seeing as how little rain we’ve had all spring and summer so I’m glad that were getting some. Most of the leaves have fallen now and if it were a little colder I’d be complaining about snow instead.

I finally finished my “Where’s Waldo” scarf for Jonathan yesterday, it only took me a year to do so. I’m not sure it will be a surprise since he may have seen the yarn sitting around the house but then again it may not have occured to him that I was using the wool to knit him up something. Waldo is Jonathan’s nickname and he and his friends are so used to using it that people have mistaken it for his last name, which he thinks is a hoot.
ted-e-bear-and-waldo-scarf.jpg
Ted E Bear modelling the “Where’s Waldo” scarf

Today I decided to try out the Shiva irridescent paintstiks I had ordered from Dharma.  I didn’t want to waste any of my good fabric so I decided to practise on some spare white fabric I have. First off, I tried using the rubbing plates. This is the same idea as putting a sheet of paper over a penny and rubbing a pencil on top of it to get the design. I wasn’t too happy with the results but that wasn’t the paintstiks fault rather my own lack of expertise and the fact that I had tried out the method on a light fabric. You can see the colour easily enough but the shimmer doesn’t show because it needs a darker background to set the shine off. Next time I’ll have to practise on black.

Next I practised using the paintstiks on some stencils I had purchased (being to lazy to make my own). This technique is fairly easy and the results were pretty good so I decided to use the stencil on a piece of fabric I had dyed at the same time as when I made the Indigo tank top the other day. The paintstiks that I had came in a primary set so the colour choices were yellow, red, orange, green, blue and brown. I didn’t really like any of the choices because they seemed to bright for the indigo so I decided to go muted and chose the blue. This actually turned out to be a good choice as it blended perfectly with the fabric. I also chose to use a japanese character stamp with gold Lumiere paint to fill in the spots inbetween the stenciled designs. It turned out quite pretty and has me thinking of larger things. You can’t see the shimmer because of poor photo quality but it is there.
indigo-blue-and-shiva-paintsticks.jpg
Indigo fabric with blue irridescent Shiva paintstik and gold lumiere paint.

Karen

4 responses to “Shiva paintstiks and Ted E. Bear

  1. Karen,
    I love it! Those colors look great together. I so can’t wait to try all these different techniques. Your getting me all excited…(g) So I need shiva paintsticks, Lumiere paints, stencils, stamps,,geez,,,lol Can’t wait to be able to go on a shopping spree…

  2. I forgot to tell you your scarf is beautiful!

  3. You did a great job on the scarf and with the painsticks.

  4. Looks nice – I have painsticks, but don’t use them to full effect. Really ought to get them out more.

    Oh, and I’d love to send you some of our rain – too bad it doesn’t work that way!

Leave a Reply

