Nested Round Robin Colour Wheel & Parfait

Well yesterday I finally got busy and dyed some of the fabric for the nested round robin I will be participating in this coming year with my one of my fabric dyeing forums. The idea is to start off with a centre block of each participant’s choosing and then each month add a border to the quilt. The borders can either go around the center block or the quilt can be made up of rows of borders. Each border idea is drawn by the hostess co-ordinating the swap. One month you could have appliqued leaves for instance and the next month a border of stars, etc. There are no restrictions on size; the finished quilt could be a wall-hanging or end up being a bed quilt.

The easy part for me was choosing the colours, I’m still not sure what to decide on for the central block and then when I figure out my block I have to decide on the colour arrangement. The idea is to incorporate as many colours of the colour wheel in the starting block so you can bring them into the quilt borders somehow. The colours need not be from the one colour wheel but could also be from gradations of individual colours within the wheel or colours with additives – much like the colour wheels plus additives that I posted previously.

I’m not a very creative person. I enjoy making the creations I do but not coming up with my own ideas. I like looking at something and saying “That’s nice I want to try it”. This round robin sounds simple but will probably stretch me out of my comfort zone; actually it already has since I’m in angst and haven’t even started.

I guess the idea of a round robin is to work on the border of a quilt and then mail it on to the next person on the list; because of rising postage costs our group decided to keep the quilts at home and work on them ourselves. I’m just as glad, I don’t think I would have participated if I was respondsible for working on someone else’s quilt.

Anyhow pictures are below. The main colours I used were from Dharma – Burgundy, Navy Blue and Marigold. Kudos to BettyAnn for choosing these colours in our Rainbow swap, I was inspired.

Colour Wheel - Nested Round Robin
Dharma’s Burgundy, Navy Blue and Marigold

Parfait with colour wheel
Parfait from left-over dye with colour wheel.

Round robin parfait
Parfait using about 1/4 cup each of burgundy, navy and marigold
on one yard of fabric.

Karen

3 responses to “Nested Round Robin Colour Wheel & Parfait

  1. Great color choices I love your parfait. Judi

  2. Your colors are gorgeous!! Am anxious to see the finished piece.

  3. Love your color choices Karen, eager to see what you do with this round robin.

Leave a Reply

