More Treasure

Well the previous post was fabric, this post is about the yarn that I inherited along with the fabric and lest you think it was only leftover craft stuff that we picked up on the weekend, we also scored a rather nice corner cabinet that will come in handy for my excess dishes, which are squirreled away somewhere.
Corner Cabinet
Cherry corner cabinet.

The yarn was very much like the fabric in that there were all these little bits of left-over balls and when I say little bits…I mean…little bits. The only reason I can think of for keeping these tiny bits would be for using them to repair any holes that might appear in the knitted garment.
Bits and bobs of yarn
Bits and bobs of yarn, a pair of booties, mittens and some written instructions for a sock heel.

I’m under the impression that some of the yarn was from items that had been knitted and unravelled. When I thought I would inherit the yarn stash, much like the fabric, I thought it would be usable with bits of four-ply that could be used in a colourful granny afghan. This stuff is what would have been used for socks and baby sweaters, useless to me because I won’t be crocheting or knitting anything out of such fine yarn. The thing is, there is only one or two small balls that you might want to make a pair of socks out of but then you’d be taking a chance on running out of yarn at that.

There were some balls of soft fuzzy acrylic yarn and some leftover mohair blends that my mother-in-law used for making hats and mittens out of – something else I can’t use in an afghan but there is enough yarn in a couple of colours that I possibly might make a baby’s sweater out of so we’ll see.
Soft yarn
Yarn stash.

One of the things that there was quite a lot of was cotton crochet thread. My MIL used to make the hanging oven towels out of these and indeed she is the person from whom I picked up the idea in the first place. The only problem is that while she used fine cotton thread I use thicker. Some of the cotton I can probably work with but the rest might just go to a friend who like my MIL uses the finer thread.
Cotton crochet thread
Cotton thread stash.

I did score one really nice haul in the yarn department and that was a stash of green flecked wool that my MIL had seen when they had travelled out to New Brunswick oh must have been what about 30-40 years ago? She had seen the yarn and ordered some to be mailed to her so I’m thinking it was a home-craft business perhaps? It makes sense if the yarn wasn’t ready-made to be bought at the time. Anyhow nice hanks of yarn maybe about 4-5 in total. It’s hard to tell because my MIL had rewound some into two balls.  Anyhow she never did get around to knitting them up, probably because she was allergic to wool and so was most of the family. The stuff is scratchy but I’m hoping to use it as the colour is divine even after all of these years. LOL, the colour suits a man’s sweater but my husband is one of the allergic family members, oh well.
Green wool
Looks darker and richer in person.

The thing I found most interesting about the yarn stash was the patterns I inherited and the needles. LOL, my SIL would be going nuts about the patterns as she sells on ebay and these treasures are just the type of things she looks for in garage sales, oh well, too bad.
Old patterns
Old patterns, one or two booklets (not shown) I actually own myself – awk! – am I ancient as well?

Red Cross booklet
Red Cross booklet of instructions for “selected civilian knitting instructions for women and children”…does this imply war-time? **As an added note:  I went through the patterns and there was another booklet and this one had instructions for knitting for the armed services with instructions for items that a service man or woman would need.

Old crochet hook with covering
What is this thing? Looks like a piece of metal of a broken off crochet hook.

Crochet hook
Oh…it has a lid. This is the finest crochet hook I’ve ever seen. This hook is so fine I swear I have needles with holes that are bigger. I’ve never ever seen one this fine for sale in a store. It boggles the mind because it implies the finess of the thread it was used for and I just wouldn’t attempt to go there in any way, shape or form.

Well most of the left-overs have been tossed into a box with a few of the usable bits left out. I’ll have to come up with a pattern for the wool but I’m not sure how much four hanks will knit up. There was another nice bit of wool but only one ball’s worth so I’m not sure what that could be used for but it looks like the same variety as the green.

My MIL had the green wool wrapped up in four different layers. I think she came from an era where wool was used a lot and moths were a problem, maybe another reason for all those little bits of left-over yarn. She makes judicious use of mothballs to this day.

One more interesting picture of some nylon yarn touted for being used for adding strength to your garment. This ball of yarn was advertised with the quick pull method to get it started.
Magic yarn
Magic ball, pull here (notice arrow) also some knitting needles mostly for finer yarn different looking from what I use today for the most part.

All in all this was a slice of the past.

Karen

One response to “More Treasure

  1. i’m another one who is allergic to wool (though I appreciate, I’m not in your family, so you probably wouldn’t knit me a sweater, anyway!) – in some ways, this is a good thing, as it keeps a lid on my yarn buying and gives me less incentive to learn to knit (because I NEED another hobby, right?) Although I know you are bound to point out that there are all kinds of fabulous non-wool yarns out there nowadays…

Leave a Reply

