Spring Fever!

I see the last time that I’ve posted has been April 15th, a week ago. In some ways it seems like forever. I’m not sure we had a Spring here in Whitby, Ontario, Canada. For about a week now the tempratures have been around the 70 F/21 C degree range during the day. We have had little rain as well for April so what that has meant is that I’ve had perfect conditions for working on the garden out back.

Last year I left it to late and by the time I went out the ground was rock hard. We have a clay based soil where the garden is and unless you work on it first thing during the Spring it becomes unmanagable. I suppose if I had help (talking hubby here) then it wouldn’t have been a problem but I admit with a bad back I just gave in last year and did nothing.

Since I’ve had perfect weather conditions and the soil is breaking nicely I’ve been out back this past week working away for about 2-3 hours each day trying to wrestle this thing into submission. 
Perinnial Garden

Perennials in top half of garden.

It didn’t help to leave the garden untouched for a year because now I have all sorts of weed roots that need digging up so as I turn the soil I’m constantly bending over picking out the roots. If I don’t pick out the roots then I’ll just get more weeds so…it’s been a long slog and I’ve about 2-3 more days work left before I figure I’ll have the garden soil all turned.

Unturned part of garden.

Raspberries and weeds

Raspberry stumps and weeds. I’ve removed all of the raspberries but two as I’m fed-up with trying to keep them under control. The coons get the berries anyway so what’s the point?

After working on this garden I have the decision to make of whether or not to turn over a smaller bed farther back that is completely overgrown or to take out the existing flowers and add them to the big garden. The problem is that I have four peony bushes back there and they take up a lot of space and I’m not sure I want to sacrifice the room in the main garden, which is why I created the smaller flower bed in the first place but it’s a major pain to keep the grass out of this bed.
Garden from back showing house

View of entire garden and back of house, note large “dead” cherry tree. You don’t get the perspective but it is a good-sized garden.

We finally lost our cherry tree last summer to fire blight. Unfortunately we didn’t realise thats what was wrong with it until to late.  It’s a huge tree but needs to come down. We also lost one of our maple trees and will have to dig out the stump. Of course the husband didn’t want to fork out the money to get some men to come in to reduce the stump because of course he and the two strong healthy boys can do the work. That was last June and needless to say the stump is still there and most likely will stay that way for who knows how long. All I know is that the replacement tree is not going to be put into the ground until the stump is removed and Spring is supposed to be the time to plant. It kind of burns me that I might be the one that has to dig it out. At some point you ask yourself “okay exactly what are you doing around the house?”. This always leads me to the notorious Ann Landers question “Are you better off with him or without him?”. I usually only think these thoughts when I’m feeling hard done by and put out. It doesn’t seem to matter that my husband goes off to work everyday because in my head there are certain jobs I regard as a man’s and to my mind removing tree stumps is one of them.

Dead cherry tree

Dead cherry tree, yes it is big isn’t it?

Tree stump

Maple tree stump and it’s huge. Well it’ll seem huge once “someone” starts to dig it out.

So much work to do…so many things to fix…and now that I think of it…so many things to make.

Karen

3 responses to “Spring Fever!

  1. What no back fence….vbg. That would drive me nuts. Don’t know if your town regulations will let you but what about burning out the stump? I did that in one garden we had. Just light a fire on top of the stump and keep feeding it. It doesn’t have to be a huge fire but if the wood is dry and dead it should work. It’s not a quick process but then neither is digging out the stump. You should be able to burn it down enough that you can cover what’s left of the stump with soil and the rest will rot away over time. Hope this helps. Now what does the front garden look like…..wicked grin.

  2. Ah that’s clever about burning the stump, I’ll have to check into it but now that I think of it the stump is up against the fence so maybe that wouldn’t be a good idea.

  3. You are so lucky to have a garden, even though it’s lots of work it’s worth not to have to buy vegetables and know that you grew it yourself, someday I hope to have a big garden, for planter boxes will have to do.

Leave a Reply

