Batik Fish Pillow

One of my fabric dyeing forums recently had a resist swap where participating members traded in fat eights of their favorite resist method and one of the pieces I received back was a beautiful piece of batik that the owner had created in a workshop she’d done this year.

Needless to say I was flabbergasted to get such a beautiful piece of fabric and I immediately wanted to do something with it. I have to admit this is probably the first time that I’ve ever had the urge to create something right away with a piece of material I’ve gotten. Usually I get ideas but put them off but this one I had to do something with. It just screamed pillow to me and that’s what I did.

My house has limited wall-space as it’s very open and I wanted to make something that could be seen by any visitors so the pillow seemed a logical choice. I got lucky in picking out the matching fabric and cording from the local Walmart that was closing down their fabric department so I probably paid less than five dollars, which made me happy.

Batik fish pillow

Batik fish pillow

Pillow on couch in family room. Kitty wondering why mom is disturbing his sleep with flashing camera lights.

Pillow on couch in family room. Kitty wondering why mom is disturbing his sleep with flashing camera lights.

Much thanks to Kathy for sharing her marvellous creation.

Karen

2 responses to “Batik Fish Pillow

  1. Wow, that is great fabric! And the pillow was a perfect choice. It looks like kitty is watching those fish pretty carefully! LOL
    Andi

  2. Beautiful batik. I love that you turned it into a pillow great idea. Judi

Leave a Reply

