The Old Cherry Tree

Two blogs in one day what’s this world coming to? I was going to work on the garden today but somehow the dead cherry tree out back called my name instead. My husband said that he needed a chain saw to cut it down but I thought to myself why couldn’t the new 12″ pruning saw I bought recently work instead?

I have to admit that I didn’t cut the whole tree down and when it does come to cutting the thick trunk then a chain saw would help (not that I don’t think I can’t use the pruning saw). I did do some serious damage on the tree though.

The tree had fire blight for several years but we didn’t realise it until most of it died off last year. Unfortunate because it had gotten to the point of producing some huge cherry crops, the kind you pay big bucks for in the store. Each year the birds and racoons would ravage the cherries and we were lucky to get any at all except for the last couple of years when the tree was so big they couldn’t keep up.

Anyhow it all gone now except for two small branches one of which is a waterspout branch. I not sure what will happen next year with the two branches but we’ll see. Even if the tree still lives I can’t see it doing anything as the one main branch is growing on an limb and at some point will probably break off.

Here is a picture of the mess I have to go clean up as soon as I’m done taking a break from writing my blog:

Dead (for the most part) cherry tree in backyard of our home.

Dead (for the most part) cherry tree in backyard of our home.

John is fixing the kitchen window, which has been rotting away for the last couple of years. He’ll paint it once he’s replaced the trim.

John working on kitchen window

John working on kitchen window

Time to go the boys are leaving for university and the holiday can be considered over.

Karen

Leave a Reply

