Swirl Quilt and Lace Yarn

Well I finally sewed together all the squares in my swirl quilt and all that needs doing aside from actually putting it together and quilting it is to put some kind of border around the squares. I’ve decided to piece together a border of plain blocks made up of the other swap technique fabrics in my stash. I’ll probably do that after I’ve put together some kind of quilt for my new grandson that is due to be born in the next week or so.

John with swirl quilt
John holding quilt over deck railing at back of house.

The swirls that make up this quilt were some that I had done myself but most of them were done by other ladies from my fabric dyeing forum in a swap exchange. For a block swap everyone does up the required number of squares and then sends them in to a hostess who exchanges all the blocks and mails them back out to the participants. This way you can dye up say 14 blocks in one colour pathway and then receive back 14 different coloured blocks.

I didn’t want a black quilt so had a hard time coming up with a good colour to match all the squares. Call it lack of imagination but I went with white to frame the squares (there were different sizes) to 15 inches and then a narrow band of light baby blue to tie them together. Black would have been stunning but the blue and white will match the guest bedroom and my bedroom for that matter better.

I also had my Knitpick’s order come in on Friday so thought I would post a picture of the colours that I bought during their recent lace sale.

Knitpick's peppermint cloud alpaca
Knitpick’s “Cloud Alpaca” in the colour Peppermint. I waited 9 months for this yarn to be restocked.

Knitpick's Shimmer Lace Hush
Knitpick’s “Shimmer” in the colour Hush. This is an alpaca silk blend.

Knitpick's kettle-dyed Shadow lace eggplant
Knitpick’s kettle-dyed “Shadow” in the colour Eggplant. Shadow is a 100% merino lace weight wool.

Knitpick's kettle-dyed Shadow lace Altitude
Knitpick’s kettle-dyed “Shadow” in the colour Altitude.

Knitpicks lace yarn
All the yarn together in a stack.

I already have some lace weight yarn waiting to be worked on but since I’d waited so long for the peppermint alpaca cloud to come in and it happened to be right when the other lace was on sale I decided to go ahead and buy some more since the shipping was the same regardless of how much I bought.

The lace yarn was quite reasonable ranging from $5.49 to $2.99 per 50 gram skein. Needless to say the peppermint alpaca was not on sale seeing as how there is such a great demand for that colour. Still, all in all if you figure you need anywhere from one to three skeins of yarn for a lace scarf or stole then you can make one of these projects for under ten dollars. Of course finding the time to do it is another thing but I’m thinking Christmas is a reasonable time frame. I guess another problem would be giving up the project once it’s made.

Karen

9 responses to “Swirl Quilt and Lace Yarn

  1. I love that yarn you got. Did you buy all those colours??? What do you do with it??? Knit??? or dye it.
    I want the blue, and the purple and and the……… LOL
    Ricky in Winnipeg

  2. Wow, Karen, I love the quilt! It’s very pretty and I think the white sets off the colors very well… ah… cute hubby there too!

    Also I love the colors of your yarns. What will you be making with them?

  3. Wow!!! What a fantastic idea. Fabulous quilt.
    Love it.

  4. the quilt is awesome!

    thanks for posting the knit picks pics, yours look a bit ‘truer’ than the website.

  5. I like the white and blue border and the yarn is yummy.

  6. Being a swirly girl, I just LOVE that, great job!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Thanks for all the comments ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yes the hubby is cute and he’s just as lovely on the inside as well.

    The colours do match the yarn fairly well. I posted the pictures because I like to know what I’m getting before I order it and it’s hard to find good pictures on the web of the yarn you want. The colours are pretty much what you see, just take a bit of the shine off for the flash and you’ve got what they look like.

  8. Great quilt Karen!! Good use of the swap fabrics.
    The yarn is beautiful as well.

  9. Love the quilt. How kind of John to pose while holding it for you..vbg. As for the yarn – ohhhh yummy.

Leave a Reply

