Prayer Shawl

Well I was supposed to be finishing up this project:


Moda scrap bag quilt with some Spring Fever strips.

This is a small quilt made out of one Moda scrap bag and I added in some small blue, pink and purple squares along with the white. The fabric at the top is some lime green and orange I dyed up to compliment the quilt, the green being the backing and the orange for the binding. I had every intention of finishing off the quilt within a couple of days of my last post but instead I got sidetracked by this:


Diamond Knit Shawl using homespun from Lionbrand using colourway Barrington.

I started working on this at our blessings group that meets Wednesday mornings at the church. Our group of ladies get together where we sit and chat and work on projects that get donated to those that need them, mostly prayer shawls, hats, scarves and mittens and perhaps some chemo caps as well.

Anyhow once I started working on knitting the shawl the quilt dropped by the wayside. It’s a bad habit of mine starting one project and then not finishing it before something else appeals. I was waiting to blog until I finished the quilt but since it’s taking major effort for the shawl I thought I should post something. The shawl is very picky to do. The pattern isn’t hard but you combine the pattern with the yarn choice and well lets just say it takes some effort.

The yarn is a loosely twisted fibre and has a tendency to split so I always seem to be picking up a few extra strands now and then and it’s hard to pull through the knitted stitches. It didn’t help that I started off with straight needles that were more blunt at the tips. I didn’t realise until I switched to the cable needles how much the fat tips were slowing me down. It made me realise that you’re only as good as your equipment. I’ve ordered some new tips from Knitpicks that should be even faster.

Knitpicks has this wonderful system of interchangeable needles and cables. The needle tips screw onto the cables so you can mix and match the different lengths that any one project needs. The ones I like are the nickel-plated needles with the fine tips. The cables are wonderful as well because they are supple with little memory. This makes a difference because the cable needle I’m working with now tends to stay coiled when I work with it. The cable gets this way from sitting in the package between uses so it’s always a struggle to keep the needles from twisting while knitting.

I don’t know how much longer this shawl will take. It starts at a point and then grows and grows so now I’m at the point where it takes quite a bit of time just to get across one row. I feel like I’m knitting a blanket. Hopefully whoever gets it will appreciate the effort that’s going into it.

Karen

6 responses to “Prayer Shawl

  1. Stunning quilt – so bright and cheery but I must admit the prayer shawl is my favorite. Just beautiful. Well done.

  2. Catherine, both pieces are lovely. I have a question about your shawl. How do you get circular needles to uncurl? I have a terrible time with them.

    Thank you,
    oxo Judy

    • Hi Judy,

      I never did get the needles to straighten all the way but I guess using them and the weight of the shawl helped to straighten them out a bit. I just got my Knitpicks order today and it had the new needle tips in it so I put them on the 32″ cable wire and the wire straightened out right away. I don’t know if you’re familiar with Knitpicks but if you click on the link in my post it’ll take you there. The nickle-plated needles glide along fast.

      Karen

  3. Karen,
    I’ve been admiring your vase parfait dying and snow dying. I did experiment with tee shirts in snow dying and was pleased with the results.
    I’m a baby dyer and am concerned with my dye mixing. How do you determine how much dye to mix and how much of each color to use?
    Thanks.
    Bobbie

    • Hi Bobbie,

      I could give you a ton of info but it would help if I know how much dyeing experience you have and what kind of dyeing that you’re referring to (dyeing in general or snow dyeing?). This is too much to go into detail on the blog so I’ll post this reply to you via email and you can email me back if you have any questions.

      Karen

Leave a Reply

