Vacation Tie-Dyes and Homemade Pillowcase.

I have to admit that I’ve played hooky for the last few months from this blog. Part of the reason was we went on vacation and then the big catch up in the garden, which I admit is an excuse but sometimes it’s just nice not to have to do something.

Anyhow, we went on holiday – 4 days in Rome and then 11 days on a cruise to various ports of call. The hubby has always wanted one of my lemon yellow and turquoise t-shirts so I made up a batch of tie-dyes to take on holiday. It’s always easier to pick out family when they are wearing tie-dye simply because the colours are so bright and no one else is wearing them.


Tie-dyes batching in plastic ziplock bags in the sun.


More batching tie-dye.


Black, seafoam green and grape adult tee for my niece.


Grecian rose, Island green and grape for my sister-in-law.


Matching socks.


Rainbow shirt made for my husband it looks fantastic on him, very nice.


Scaly dragon shirt, Tom and Martine’s pattern from TrueTieDye It hasn’t found a home yet.


More socks.


Black and turquoise shirt.


Turquoise and lemon yellow, this is a fantastic combination and you can see it from half a mile away, trust me.


Turquoise, black and seafoam green. The green was rather muted on this one. The black was a solid on one side when applied as opposed to being applied in pie shaped wedges on both sides. This is why you get spirals of black in between the other colours unlike the black and turquoise spiral previously.

I saw this neat idea for a pillow on the Moda Bakeshop site and adapted it for my own use. I’m sure there have been lots of pillowcases made like this but it’s my first one and I’m rather proud of it. I like to use feather pillows because you can fluff them up nicely. The only problem is I like a lower loft pillow and the ones I buy from Costco are big. They say they are queen-sized but my pillowcases are several inches smaller than these pillows so when I force them into the case it gives me a really fat pillow. Anyhow, long story short I decided to make my own.


Pillowcase made with Kona percale cotton and various fabric’s from April Cornell’s Nature’s Notebook collection.


Close-up of the material. I really like these colours and when I get around to it I will be making a quilt probably dresden plate out of the fat quarter bundle I bought. I just need to buy some larger yardage for borders before it all gets sold out.

And lastly because I took a couple of before and after pictures:


Junk from desk top.


Clean desk, needless to say my desk is messy again but not quite as bad as before. A never ending flow of stuff migrating on and off the desk like a tide washing in and out on the beach.

Karen

7 responses to “Vacation Tie-Dyes and Homemade Pillowcase.

  1. these shirts are gorgeous Karen – you are so good at it!

  2. Ricky in Winnipeg

    yes but where do you put all the ‘stuff’ after you have cleared it off the desk???
    In my house it just goes back on the desk, LOL

    But your desk does look vvery nice now that it is cleared off.
    Ricky in Winnipeg

  3. How much would it cost foe that grape shirt

Leave a Reply

