Dyeing a Quilt Backing – Part 3 The End.

I finally finished dyeing the quilt backing yesterday and thought I would post some pictures of some of the steps.


Fabric set-up – a clothes rack with a chicken wire frame set on top and ivory backing piece.


Piece of 70″x85″ fabric scrunched down to about a third that size.


Ivory over-dyed in a grid pattern using Black and Bark and dry soda ash applied.


Close-up of the over-dye. I ran out of dye and had to mix up some more brown. I decided to cover up the ivory that was showing so this photo isn’t quite accurate.


Covered in Saran Wrap with some empty flower containers to weigh it down. After a couple of hours I placed the fabric in a very large plastic Rubbermaid container and floated the whole thing in a bathtub of very hot water and left it to batch overnight.


Fabric after the wash-out hanging from the shower curtain rod in the bathroom.

I’m really pleased that this backing worked out so well. It was worth taking the time to do the third trial test piece. After having done the first two pieces I was ready to use a plain black homespun for backing and the only reason I didn’t was because I’d already torn my 108″ pfd white to size plus I would have had to seam the black homespun to fit the quilt and and the black homespun was expensive at $10 a metre.

Now on to quilting and binding.

Karen

P.S. Oh and yes I did for a second time…


Whatcha going to do?

7 responses to “Dyeing a Quilt Backing – Part 3 The End.

  1. when you say dry soda ash are you just sprinkling the granulars over the wet fabric? that turned out really nice.

  2. Ricky in Winnipeg

    Since soda ash in solution is the agent that ‘fixes’ the dye to the fiber, don’e you find that there is quite a bit of washout of dye in the area where the granuals don’t reach. ???
    Its a technique I would like to try. There is always something new under the sun.
    I really like your results.

    • I was half expecting that to happen but I don’t think there is any more washout than normal. I’m thinking that the soda ash is wicked along the fabric as it dissolves when it hits the wet fabric/dye. Relatively speaking when you compare the amount of soda ash that I’m using compared to what is needed it must be enormous. I’m sprinkling tablespoons of this stuff by hand over the fabric.

      If it hadn’t worked I had also thought of using soda ash in the dye and then sprinkling the dry soda ash on top. I don’t know if I’d get the same effect. Maybe the fabric would turn out even better?

      Karen

  3. The fabric turned out great Karen!

  4. I think it turned out fabulous!

  5. how cool is that! looks like fun!

Leave a Reply

