More Spider Web Shibori…

I have a swap that I’m involved in and for this swap we could choose any method of dyeing that we wanted so I decided to take a one yard piece of ecru cotton that I had and tie it up to make some spider web (Kumo) shibori.


One yard piece of ecru cotton in process of being tied. The red dots were a washable crayola marker I used for placement but it turned out they didn’t help.


Another look.


Starting to wind the thread at the base of gathered material.


Winding thread to the tip.


Winding thread back down to bottom of cone.


One yard piece all tied up and ready for dyeing, my husband said it looked like a sea urchin. There was much angst and bloody fingers but the worse was that I continually dropped the spool of uphostery thread. Next time I’ll pre-wind the thread onto the little dowel that comes with the tool kit.


Shibori being submerged in russet brown dye bath overnight.


Washed out and ready for the threads to be removed.


Washed and ironed, at this point he said it looked like jelly fish.


Closer view.


Final close up of single web.

I’ve already blogged this process before and talked about the Shibori Tool used to make kumo shibori if anyone is interested.

Karen

11 responses to “More Spider Web Shibori…

  1. Yep – defiantely urchin looking…vbg. Love the effect and the colour is amazing. Clever you.

  2. absolutely and positively simply amazing, but oh so much work! beautiful. ann

  3. Michele at Sweet Leaf

    Beautiful! Makes me want to dig out the PFD and string to start tying the spindles. I did some of this long ago when I was studying shibori-style dye patterns in West Africa. I didn’t see anyone with this tool, but it looks helpful!
    Best Wishes

  4. What a beautiful piece of dyeing. I’ve not really played with dyeing much but this makes me want to start! Thanks for sharing the process.

  5. wow . . . very cool. Lucky recipients!

  6. Dear Karen,

    I’m studying at London College of Fashion on Costume design course. And i am trying to achieve the spider web texture for my project.. Can you tell me where you got the tool, that holds the fabric while you twisting it? I would really appreciate it.
    Many thanks,
    Indira

  7. Indira,

    An easy way to achieve spider webs could be using a pencil. I have used a pencil wrapped with the cloth and then tied the cloth just like OP. It gave exactly same effect as shown in the blog post.

    Smriti

  8. This is my first visit to Bunk’s blog. I was searching for few shibori fabrics and came here. Thank you for sharing such beautiful ideas!

Leave a Reply

