Baby Quilts and Other Things

I’ve been really busy trying to get all the quilts made in time for Christmas. I’m not sure that is going to happen considering I have two left to make and one big house to clean. Well it doesn’t help that the quilt kit I ordered hasn’t arrived either.

I’d put off posting for a while trying to get all these items finished but now I thought I’d share a couple of the items I’ve made. I have another quilt done except for the binding to be sewn down by hand and that will take hours to do. I’ll post that one when it’s done.

First off I finished the Tweet Street baby quilt for Linda.


Linda’s Tweet Street baby Christmas Quilt.

Upon reflection (and finding another pattern) I decided to turn this into Linda’s Christmas quilt because last time I gave her a flannel quilt with the colours green, burgundy and navy blue in it the quilt wasn’t very well received because she called it a Christmas quilt. I guess in every crafter’s family there is the individual that no matter what you make for them they don’t like it probably because it’s handmade. It doesn’t matter how many hours you put into the item there is always something wrong with it. Knowing this I decided that it wouldn’t matter what I made her she probably wouldn’t like it so I decided her quilt could do double duty and be used for the baby.

This mode of thinking is called rationalization. What it means is that I found another cute pattern that fit her nursery scheme, which is bears. Having found this cute pattern and noticing that the jelly roll fabric used in it just happened to be the same fabric I had, I decided to make this quilt the “baby quilt”.


Baby’s teddy bear quilt from the book “Two From One Jelly Roll Quilts” by Pam and Nicky Lintott. Fabrics from Moda designers 3 Sisters and the fabric line Aster Manor. Photo is fuzzy sorry.

Of course needless to say I saw red and brown teddy bears, what my daughter saw when she looked at the quilt was teddy bears with pink bow ties and since we don’t know the sex of the baby this was a no-no. I’d also dyed the backing for the quilt to match the red in the fabric and it came out a shade lighter and to my mind was an orangy-pink-brown but no my daughter insists it’s pink. Seriously I give up, I can do no right. It doesn’t seem to matter that I put a lot of love and effort into this quilt it’s just not right. Next time I guess the perfect gift is money.


Close up of one of the bears.

Next up is a little drawstring bag that I made for my mother-in-law for her water bottle. She moved into a senior’s apartment a couple of years ago and has gradually been in the process of giving up some of her treasures and part of that was her stash of material that she gave me. Well her current water bottle/ shoebag was wearing thin and she wanted some material to fix it. Needless to say I’d given away most of the material to her daughter who now has a granddaughter herself. Most of the material was pinks and aquas. Anyhow I’d given mom a piece of material to make a new bag but it turns out it wasn’t soft enough she wanted corduroy so I had an aha moment and went through my stash and found this.


Drawstring bag made with corduroy and cotton patchwork stars.

Unfortunately the stars don’t show up well as the points are a paler pink but the thing is quite pretty. It’s funny how the small items you think up yourself can be so satisfying. It did take me 4 1/2 hours to make though.

Lastly here is a photo of my current quilt project, will it be put together in time for Christmas, who knows?


Moda jelly roll and charm packet, designer Momo, fabric line Freebird.

Karen

5 responses to “Baby Quilts and Other Things

  1. Some days you win in everything you do. Somedays you don’t!!! I personally love both quilts and considering (in a moment of no dry clothes) I dressed my baby son in purple and yellow overalls where he looked like a big boofy girl (much to his father’s disgust) – I’m the last one to quibble about pink bows on bears….vbg. Maybe money is the answer. At least then you can spend time making things you want to make instead of trying to met a deadline and a not very enthusiastic recipient. Love the bag you made for your MIL. The stars are just perfect and I can just imagine how soft it will be. Hey and what’s 4 1/2 hours when you are enjoying yourself. I would rather spend loads of time doing something I enjoy than something I didn’t.

    • As always you put things into perspective Catherine and the 4 1/2 hours making the bag was 4 1/2 hours where I wasn’t cleaning the basement, which I have been procrasting over :D

  2. The quilts look fantastic, as does the bag! Deadlines are often hard work though, I know what you mean. I often (usually!) say no to making for others nowadays, unless it is something I particularly want to make and there is no deadline (other than self-imposed ones).

  3. How did you make the teddy bear eye? Appliqué?

    • I used fusible web but you could applique as well or embroider. Normally if I use fusible web I do a blanket stitch around the applique but in this instance I think I just left it alone. It’s possible I sewed around the outside using the sewing machine and black thread but to be honest I can’t remember and my daughter has the quilt.

Leave a Reply

