Same Dye Different Effect….Snowdyeing

Well I finally got around to dyeing up a couple of pieces of material using snow. We have a swap coming up in March and since the weather has been all things weird I decided it’d probably be a good time to do it now while we still have some.

The material used was P&B dyer’s cloth and the size of the pieces were 1 yard each. I made up three different dyes using a strength ratio of 1 tablespoon of dye to 1 cup of water.

From Dharma:
1. Navy
2. Butterscotch
3. Burgundy

I used the same method of snow-dyeing that I always use – presoak material in soda ash, wring out and arrange tightly scrunched up on a rack in the sink. Layer about 4 inches of snow over top, apply dye and let melt. After the snow has melted I then put the material into a plastic shoebox container and float it in a sink of hot water for as many hours as I have patience to let it sit until I rinse and wash it out.


Snow-dyed fabric using Navy, Burgundy and Butterscotch from Dharma applied in a blob pattern to cover snow.


Closeup of an area of the above fabric.

I had some left over dye so thought I would try applying it in a spatter pattern over the snow. I didn’t bother taking any photos of this because I’ve already blogged it before but basically for the first piece I squirted out big blobs of dye onto the snow whereas on the second piece I just squirted lines of dye criss-crossing each other back and forth over the snow.


Snowdyed using Navy, Butterscotch and Burgundy in a random line pattern. There was a bit more burgundy left than the navy and butterscotch but this piece is mostly purple probably because the dye blended together better than the bigger blobs of dye in the first piece.


Closeup of one section of above material.

Nice fabric it always looks so good when it’s been snowdyed. It’s always hard to cut one of these pieces up because they look like a painting and it’s always better seeing all the different colours in the one piece. Might be interesting to try and make a Ricky Tims quilt out of one of them and see how it turns out.

Karen

8 responses to “Same Dye Different Effect….Snowdyeing

  1. They look beautiful! I can’t imagine having readily available snow to do it – but doesn’t it work nicely.

  2. Looks wonderful! Love the effects you are getting with your snow dyeing. Yes, I would really like to see a Ricky Tims style quilts made out of these fabrics. Hope you post photos if you make one.

    • Thanks for the encouragement Gloria, I think I will make a small one out of the first material but it might be a couple of months before I get around to it as it’ll have to go in queue but I’ll be sure to post pictures if I do 🙂

  3. Beautiful! I haven’t had great results with snow dyeing yet, but you brought up two things I’m going to try: intensifying my dye mix, and heating after the snow melts. I do get good results with ice-dyeing, but my version is to freeze the pre-soaked and scrunched fabric, then apply the dyes and allow them to batch for several hours. That method doesn’t require the intense dye mix, just regular. Can’t wait to see what you do with the fabric!

    • There are several ladies in my dyeing forum who freeze the fabric as well and get good results so try batching your fabric in heat or let it sit at room temprature for a while. I tend to batch mine in a container in hot water because I’m too impatient to wait the full 24 hours. I don’t microwave because I’m afraid of over-heating the fabric and scorching it.

      Love your tie dyes by the way always have.

  4. Your snow dyeing is beautiful! I’ve been doing a lot of it lately and have posted my results. I’m working on my latest post of dying with ice. The fabric is still in the dryer but it looks beautiful too! I know it’s really hard to cut these pieces up because they look like paintings.

  5. Thanks for the kind words on my quilt. The snow dyed fabric is beautiful. Another thing to put on the ‘to do’ list!

Leave a Reply

