Scraps of Time…Day 11.

Well I spent about half of the morning and all of the afternoon working on making the appliqued leaves for the borders. I pinned up one border to show what it looks like and I’ll finished the rest of the borders later on tonight and call it a day as my back is pooched. As painful as it was to make the leaves – 118 of them – I must say that the border does look spectacular with them on it. The real challenge I guess will be to figure out how to sew the leaves down. From what I can gather on the Internet a machine blanket stitch is the way to go. I have a feeling it’s going to be a couple of days worth of sewing.

I prepared the leaves by cutting out templates from freezer paper and then ironing the freezer paper cutouts onto the wrong side of the fabric. I cut out the templates leaving a 1/4″ border and then applied spray starch with a paintbrush and then ironed the applique. I picked up this method of doing the applique from a tutorial created by Joanna Figueroa from Fig Tree & Co. The Sew Mama Sew website hosted the tutorial and it can be found here: The Starch Method

applying starch to appliques
Applying starch to the fabric leaves.

appliqued leaves on ironing board
Ironed leaves.

appliqued leaves
All the finished leaves for borders.

appliqued border
One border with pinned leaves on it.

Karen

Leave a Reply

