Poppy Shawl and Café Pansy Cosy

I’ve been away on holiday down to Florida and the warmer climes, lol, now it’s back home and snowing like crazy, such is life. While driving down to Florida I managed to finish off a shawl I’d started back home using the yarn I’d recently spun from the mohair/wool roving I’d bought from the Woodstock Fibre Festival and Wellington Fibres Mill.

The pattern – Poppy Shawl – is by Liz Lovick and comes from the book called Centenary Stitches. A wonderful book filled with over 70 patterns of vintage knits that were created for the movie Tell Them of Us. The original shawl is red but I wanted to use my homespun for a shawl and this is the pattern I chose. The movie is about a family and shows their life as their sons go off to war and the love ones left at home.

Poppy shawl2
Poppy Shawl by Liz Lovick.

poppy shawl on wires
Shawl on laced wires being blocked. While on vacation I bought the wires from InSpinknity and I really like them, they can be bent and will snap back straight after use.

On the way back home from Florida I worked on another Liz Lovick pattern from her ebook Café Pansy and chose the tea cosy to knit. The cosy was knit with Jamieson and Smith’s 2-ply jumper weight yarn. The knit was an easy one but took forever because the weight of the yarn was so fine. The ribbing seemed to take a long time to knit, I really don’t like ribbing so that probably didn’t help.

pansy tea cozy
Pansy Tea Cosy by Liz Lovick. Actually the pattern looks like butterflies to me so I guess you could switch out the colours and get something different.

Next I plan on working on a dinosaur quilt kit for my grandson Carter so we’ll see how that goes.

Karen

One response to “Poppy Shawl and Café Pansy Cosy

  1. Pingback: Print of the Wave. | Bunks' Blog

Leave a Reply

