Treats and Eye Candy.

Yesterday I got a parcel in the mail from the Uk, it was a prize for a KAL that I had been in for the months leading up to Christmas. The KAL was to complete projects and record the yardage used. Now I wasn’t going to bother listing my yardage because all I’d done was a hat and baby blanket and there were others who completed a lot more work than I did but then I thought well I should get into the spirit of the KAL (knit-along) because the idea of the KAL was to try and use up stash yarn. Well imagine my surprise when I won, nobody else could be bothered to list their yardage, just goes to show you what can happen when you follow the rules.

Anyhow thought I’d blog the wonderful gift that Bev sent me:

package from uk
Exciting moment, the unopened box before me.

inside uk package
Ooh packaged up nicely so it wouldn’t move around, what is in here?

uk contents
Yummy, look at all those goodies.

I have to admit that I demolished the treats in fairly short order, I have no willpower when it comes to treats.

Now for the eye candy. I decided to play with my Hero carder today and thought I’d blast some photos out of the process. I call photos like this eye candy and I guess you’d only appreciate them if you were another spinner. I love seeing photos of colourful fibre. I forgot to take a picture of the first couple of layers but the order of laying out the fibre on the carding wheel was: black, firestar, purple, red, gold Angelina, orange, yellow, orange, gold Angelina, red, purple, firestar, black.

I made two batts for a total of 94 grams. The Hero is a small carder so doesn’t do batts above 50 grams and it was all I could do to get as much fibre on it as I did. Since there were two batts some of the photos are repetitive.

hero batt nova

middle of nova batt 2

middle of nova batt

nova with purple layer

nova with black layer

nova tail end batt 2

nova tail end

Nova end 1

nova end 2

nova 2 batts end view

nova batt 2

nova both batts tail ends

Since the main colours are black and purple with the red, orange and yellow as accents I’ve decided to name these two batts Nova.

Karen

4 responses to “Treats and Eye Candy.

  1. Those are beautiful batts, and I adore the name!

  2. Thank you Kais 🙂

  3. Ohh pretty eye candy..lol. Well done. Just plain fleece being spun here. The theory is I’m working though my stash before I can buy any more…sigh. Hope the holiday was a good one. You did some beautiful knitting. I’m very impressed.

    • Well the temptation was to buy more pretty roving despite having a closet full so instead made my own from what I have on hand. The holiday was fabulous and thanks about the knitting 🙂

Leave a Reply

