Dizzing off the Drum Carder.

Today I had more fun creating some roving off of my drum carder. The first time I tried this I didn’t have a proper diz and used a ceramic button. It was a tough go and didn’t work that well and I hadn’t tried it again until today. I used my proper diz today and the process was really easy so I guess it helps to use the proper tools.

I’m going to photo bomb the process again, mostly because I want a record of the colours used. I’m too lazy to make more roving and there is also the thought that when I spin this stuff up it might not look that great so I’ve only made 63 grams of roving. If I want more at least I can look back at this post and figure out what to do again. Blogs are wonderful, I don’t know how many times I’ve Googled something and come up with my own blog.

The wool used is some white Shetland from Jamieson & Smith and some coloured Ashford mill ends, which I assume are Corridale since they aren’t soft like Merino. The mill ends used are green, purple, yellow and pink.

1 bare drum carder

2 white

3 green on white2

4 green2

5 purple on green

6 purple on green

7 purple2

8 yellow on purple2

9 pink on yellow

91 pink

92 white on pink

93 starting to diz off drum

94 front view dizzing2

95 halfway through dizzing2

96 roving falling off drum

97 roving

98 roving nest

It’s a thing of beauty, how many years have I been posting and it only occurred to me today to place a number in front of the names of my photos so that they are sequenced properly and so when importing I don’t have to re-arrange them in proper order? It takes me a while but I eventually get there…

Karen

2 responses to “Dizzing off the Drum Carder.

  1. Haha, made me laugh when you said that when you google something it comes up with your blog. 😛 I have that too sometimes! I love the colours you have on your roving, soooo pretty. The green and the purple looked Halloweeny to start with, but when you added the pink it looked so delicate and pretty. Can’t wait to see what you make with it. 🙂

  2. Thanks 🙂 I’m working on the first sock and at the heel so I probably won’t be doing any spinning at the moment. I’ve put in a couple hours this afternoon while having a Hobbit-fest. Just finished An Unexpected Journey and have The Desolation of Smaug in the DVD right now.

    I have another project in the works as well that I hope to blog about next week.

Leave a Reply

