This and That.

I’ve been doing some crafting but nothing is finished yet so the big reveals are yet to come but since I haven’t blogged in a while I thought I’d post some progress pictures of what I’ve been doing.

First up some beauty shots to brighten your day. These are some roses that I got for my birthday and Valentine’s day, which are one and the same day. The grandkids came over and we had a wonderful romp and some yummy tacos for dinner.

white and pink roses

yellow and orange roses

Next up is the current project I’m working on. This is a little lap quilt kit that I bought from the Fat Quarter Shop about four years ago, hard to believe the time has flown by so quickly. I thought I would make it up and give it to my mother-in-law for her 95th birthday. The kids are having a special party and get together for her this April so it should be done by then.

01 laundry basket block

02 more laundry basket blocks

020 laundry basket quilt kit tag

And finally a couple of goodies arrived in the mail this morning. It was somewhat puzzling given that I had two parcels winging their way to me, ordered a week apart but the second one arrived first. This is some backing fabric I ordered to complete a quilt that I’m putting together for my grandson and the theme is dinosaurs. The other item is a quilt kit called Ada’s Prairie Stitches quilt.

03 dinosaur backing fabric

04 Ada's prairie stitches quilt kit

Hopefully I’ll be able to get pictures up of the finished quilts soon. The hubby is going away on a golf trip so I’m torn between having a craft-fest or cleaning, you can probably guess which I’ll end up doing.

Karen

4 responses to “This and That.

  1. Happy Belated Birthday. The roses are just beautiful you were very spoilt. Love the quilt you are making for your MIL. Beautiful fabrics and the dinosaur fabric is pretty awesome too.

  2. Those are looking good! The flowers are beautiful ๐Ÿ™‚ I am looking forward to seeing your Mother In Laws quilt, it looks very intricate. I miss sewing, you are making me want to sew again! :p

    • Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚ The squares are all about cutting precisely and using the right ruler. They are turning out better than I figured on. These blocks are mostly made of half square triangles. I used half squares on the quilt I recently made for my son and I used a product called Thangles (paper). These squares in this quilt are more uniform from cutting out using a rotary cutting blade and an OmniGrid triangle ruler. I think another brand name is called Easy Angle. Anyhow lots of tutorial on making half square triangles on YouTube.

Leave a Reply

