Print of the Wave.

It’s been a long time since my last post. I’ve been working on a wrap/shawl and it feels like it took forever to get it done but finished it is thank goodness.

The pattern is called Print of the Wave and is from the book by Liz Lovick called Centenary Stitches. I’ve used a pattern from this book before to make a Poppy Shawl and I explained about the book in that post.

The yarn is some that I’ve spun and blogged about – Mystery Fibre from Wellington Fibre Mill. The shawl itself isn’t very complicated to do but you do have to keep focused otherwise it’s easy to mess up the pattern repeats. I ripped back countless rows because I’d look up and lose track of what I was doing.

IMG_5349

IMG_5350

Print of the Wavecopper top in hand

After pinning out the shawl yesterday I decided to try knitting up some pompom yarn I bought from the dollar store. I watched a couple of youtube videos and then cast on 14 stitches and off I went. I finished up the short scarf this afternoon after about 5 hours of knitting. So nice to get instant gratification after spending three months knitting one item.

pom pom scarf in autumn colours
Fourteen stitches wide on 5 mm needles. Next time I’ll cast on 12 stitches and get a slightly longer scarf although this one is good for under a jacket. It took one ball of yarn – 82 yards, 150 grams.

Ted E Bear wearing pom pom scarf

Ted E. Bear of course standing in as a model for me like he usually does. He likes the scarf because it’s nice and furry although he tells me it can’t compete with his own luxurious fur.

Karen

One response to “Print of the Wave.

  1. Ohh love the Print of the Wave Shawl. Stunning pattern and the colour is gorgeous. To many projects happening here and spinning has slowed down but I have started on spinning super fine yarn ready to knit wedding shawls for my girls. No wedding plans yet but as it will take months if not years to spin then knit the shawls I thought I should start…lol. Hope you are all well. Been thinking of you.

Leave a Reply

