Adoring Quilt

Today saw me finishing up the binding and label on my latest project, a lap quilt made from a moda scrap bag and yardage. I made the quilt as a thank you to a friend who was kind enough to take me out for a couple of driving lessons to brush up on my skills before I had to take my final driving test. Unknowingly I had let my license expire so had to take a re-test, scary stuff as the test is much more extensive now 35 years later.

I didn’t really know what colours to use for the quilt but then thought everyone loves Christmas and so that’s what I settled on using fabric from the “Adoring” line by Sandy Gervais from Moda. I decided the easiest way to use the differing widths from the scrap bag was to make a Chinese Coin quilt and it was just a matter of arranging and sewing the strips together and then cutting the strips into six inch widths, stacking the widths and then sewing them. I then picked out some solid green for the accent and backing and voila all done.

adoring

I machine quilted in the ditch around the solid green bars and meander-stitched inside the coin bars. The hardest part of putting this quilt together was choosing what colour would match the coin fabrics. It true the saying that “the quilt makes itself” as I didn’t really want green for the solid but out of all the fabrics in the store that’s what went the best. Glad to have another one finished and hope my friend likes it.

Karen

One response to “Adoring Quilt

  1. I’m sure your friend will like it, it’s so well done! The colours match beautifully 🙂

Leave a Reply

