Still Working After All These Years

Okay this post is sheer motherly indulgence more for myself than for any record to put out there, something to look back at in a few years.

I was cleaning up the kitchen and decided to give my little ceramic dish a good scrub and then the little ceramic cookie a good cleaning as well. These were items that were given to me by my kids more than a few years back. I’m not sure what grade the kids were in when they made the little pottery items but it struck me that after all these years I’m still using the things and they serve their purpose well even if they do look more than a little worse for wear. I still look at them and treasure them and it’s been maybe 20 years? Sentimentality at it’s best I guess. It’s the same reason I don’t throw out those little treasures that still decorate the Christmas tree after all these years and those go back from kindergarten and my oldest is now 35 years old. Mothers, I’m sure we’re the same the world over.

blue pottery dish and cookie

blue pottery dish JDW

ceramic cookie that holds the tea strainers

pottery holding tea strainers and dish scrubbie

One response to “Still Working After All These Years

  1. I know exactly what you mean. I have things there that are long past their use by date – but the kids gave them to me so they are treasured.

Leave a Reply

