My Preciousssss…..

Anyone who is a big Lord of the Rings fan will know exactly what I’m talking about when I say “My Precioussss”. This one liner is given by Gollum as he’s fondling his golden ring. I thought the title was kind of appropriate given that my husband and I just came back from a combined New Zealand/Australia trip, the movie having been made in New Zealand. I didn’t buy any yarn-goodness in Australia but I spent the wad so to speak in New Zealand. We didn’t have any spare room in the luggage so I had Skeinz ship my stuff home since I’d spent over $100 and qualified for free shipping. I got my parcel in the mail yesterday and like Gollum I’ve been picking up my stuff, stroking it and acting like it’s My Preciousss.
skeinz parcel

skeinz tag

I’ll put up a blog later about the trip but since there are over 2,000 pictures to sort through I’ll leave that for later. The first yarn store I found was New Zealand Fabrics & Yarn downtown in the Queen’s Arcade, Auckland. I had really wanted to visit Anna Gratton’s Little Wool Co. farm and mill but it was a six hour round trip from where we were staying in Lake Taupo so that idea was nixed. Mind you had I a fellow spinner with me we would have been out there in a flash but the husband wasn’t too receptive to the idea so it was a no-go. You can order her stuff online as well. I knew that the Fabrics & Yarn store carried Anna’s fibre so I bought some there instead. I also fell in love with some stuffed bears in the store so bought the pattern for those as well.

Little Wool Co Paua shell corridale fibre
Little Wool Co. corridale fibre, colourway Paua Shell.

fibre paua shell

winston and clementine bear pattern
Winston & Clementine.

For the most part I found the yarn really expensive in the downtown shops so I didn’t buy any since I knew that we were hitting the Port of Napier on the second day of our cruise and the Skeinz outlet is in Napier. Actually the trip to the outlet ended up taking all of our time in Napier as I was too cheap to pay for the $40 cab fare there and back. The outlet is located in the industrial part of the city. Napier isn’t that big but it was too far to walk or at least too far to walk in the time limit we had before the store closed for the day so we took a city bus there and back.

The reason I wanted to go to the outlet aside from the fact that it’s a yarn shop is that New Zealand is the only place you can get possum yarn and Skeinz has some pretty reasonable prices as well. Below is the rest of the stuff I got on the trip.

Skeinz Naked merino-possum yarn
Skeinz “Naked” Merino-Possum yarn – 200 grams hanks 8-ply yarn. I’m going to have to dye this but what colour I’m not sure.

merino-possum yarn unwound from skein
The skeins were pretty tight so I unwound them since they’ll probably sit in the closet until I get around to working with them. I bought six hanks, not sure of the yardage I’m sure it’s on their website.

Skeinz lime green merino-possum yarn
Skeinz merino-possum yarn lime green. This was left-overs from a custom order I’m pretty sure it’s the same stuff as the Naked merino-possum but it was fluffier. On the website they said the yarn would get fluffy as you knit with it and I’m sure the same could be said for washing it as well.

Skeinz purple multi merino-possum yarn
Skeinz merino-possum sock yarn in a multi-purple. This stuff was on sale on their website as well.

Skeinz Vintage New Zealand yarn rose
This was a free ball of yarn for spending over a certain amount in the store, I got the coupon from the Information center downtown and only clued in because I’d visited another traveler’s blog. It’s pure wool in a very nice rose and I’m going to use it for the girl bear’s sweater in the above pattern I bought. I’ll use some of the possum for the bear’s body.

Skeinz corridale fibre charcoal
Charcoal corridale fibre about 100 grams.

Skeinz corridale fibre oatmeal
Oatmeal corridale fibre just over 200 grams. It looks more oatmeal coloured in real life. I didn’t bother getting white since I have tons of white in Shetland.

That was it for the purchases of craft yarns. I don’t really need more yarn or fibre but I couldn’t resist getting the merino-possum as it just can’t be found here and of course the fibre was just sitting there saying “Buy Me”.

Karen

4 responses to “My Preciousssss…..

  1. No-one NEEDS more yarn and fibre, but it’s best to get it, just in case, right?? What a fantastic trip you had, sounds amazing. I look forward to seeing the photos. That is such a cute teddy pattern you purchased and I think the wool you got free would make an excellent sweater. What is the possum yarn like? I imagine it would be soft? Glad to see you back!

    • Hi Kais,
      To true about no-one needing yarn but we all get it anyhow 🙂
      The trip was just wonderful and I’ll write it up and put a post up at some point, I’m being lazy at the moment. The possum yarn is soft and it’s supposed to get softer when you knit it so I’m looking forward to finding out. I’ve got a few more hedgehogs to knit for the grandsons then I imagine I’ll start working with the possum yarn. The lime green merino-possum is already so soft.

  2. Karen, I am late to this post – but I sit here marvelling that you visited Australia (where I am) and New Zealand!! Right this second I am wearing a possum/merino/silk cardigan – I am keen to buy some possum wool as I have been doing a bit better with crochet – I am going to look up ‘Skeinz’. Possum wool is HUGELY expensive in Australia!! Belatedly, I hope you had a great trip!

    • Thank you the trip was awesome, I thought of you as we passed through Melbourne on the cruise ship but of course we only were there for part of the day.

Leave a Reply

